Stories of futures to code and decode

Looming above our heads is the spectre of what the prominent historian of the future Yuval Noah Harari calls the “useless class”. According to his theory, “intelligent” machines and advances in biotechnology could soon lead to an underclass of humans that are too slow, too unreliable and not profitable enough (if at all), and thus obsolete. The idea of humans on the scrapheap still falls within the realm of dystopia and the jury is still out on the impact artificial intelligence will have on our social lives, careers and even relationships. Yet the fact remains that our presumption of cognitive superiority is being chipped away at by the adoption of AI in a progress-obsessed society that worships at the altar of technological solutionism. The time has come to reassess humanity’s place and role on the planet, to speculate and imagine new possibilities, if we are to secure our children’s future in a world beset by the threat of a takeover by AI machines and the increasingly unpredictable effects of climate change.

Why media art?

What roles can media art play both in how we understand technology and envision its place in future scenarios? What is the purpose served by a digital creation that casts a critical, opinionated eye on technology? Who is thinking about the technology as they wield it? Who is looking for an audience outside of contemporary art fairs?

Artists’ work offers more than mere aesthetic pleasures. It can unlock the ideas of scientific and technical processes that sometimes appear impenetrable, while also revealing social and environmental aspects that merit greater discussion. Take Bittercoin, an old calculator hacked by its creators, Martín Nadal and César Escudero Andaluz, to connect to the blockchain and validate bitcoin transactions. The calculations performed are printed on paper tape that piles up unremittingly around the machine, providing tangible evidence of the computations required and the natural resources wasted in the process . Another example is the work of Michael Mandiberg, who recreated the 1936 comedy Modern Times shot by shot. He did so by hiring nearly 200 creatives on gig platforms to each act out and shoot a few seconds of Charlie Chaplin’s masterpiece. When spliced together, the shots form a spectacle that is funny at times but always chaotic and tragic, much like the thankless, poorly paid chores offered to workers on US-based microtask platforms.

Bittercoin © Martín Nadal and César Escudero Andaluz

Art can also help us picture the future, to look beyond the expected benefits of an advance in science or technology and contemplate the potential economic, political, cultural and ethical impacts that such a development could have on society. Artists employ strategies to derive new meaning and tactics to win over or even confront audiences, so that we pause to reflect in a culture that no longer takes the time to consider the true reach of our societal choices or to debate what sort of future is desirable. One example that comes to mind is the famous 3D portraits of strangers that Heather Dewey-Hagborg produced using DNA samples taken from hair, nails, cigarette butts and chewing gum that the artist collected at random while walking in the streets of New York City. The strange masks that she crafts using this genetic material provide a better understanding of the limits of forensic DNA phenotyping and the potential consequences of government biological surveillance.

Stranger Visions © Heather Dewey-Hagborg

The power of art clearly resides in this political dimension. Although it is not always explicitly stated as such, a critically-minded artist’s mission is to stand up to the omnipotent actors of technological development. Artists warn us that it would be irresponsible to leave technology solely in the hands of those who develop, produce and sell it, by signalling potential abuses or pointing audiences to alternatives that are more attuned to social and environmental justice. This critical approach to current developments is increasingly reflected in concerns expressed by the public, many of whom feel more ‘used’ than ‘user’, malleable consumers more than empowered stakeholders. Art offers a window into potential means of breaking free from these asymmetrical relationships, taking back control of digital tools and co-constructing a social model liberated from the purely capitalist constructs of Silicon Valley. In fact, media art actors could almost be considered heirs to the Luddites, the English workers who broke the machinery of the Industrial Revolution in 1811 and 1812. They didn’t do so because they abhorred technology as such, but because they sought to curb the new manufacturing equipment’s negative consequences on individuals, communities and the environment.

In sum, artistic research helps familiarise the public with technology. This familiarisation involves adopting new vocabulary, gaining assurance that we have ability to act and the right to ask questions, to contest the idea that technology is a set of devices that we purchase but can’t scrutinise, which are coded but not decoded. In this way, media art serves as a conduit to the development of media literacy, enabling technology users to decipher underlying messages and dynamics that may appear opaque.

Journeys to hybrid lands

Each of the three works selected for the European project Les Voyages de Capitaine futur utilises these critical approaches in different ways, but all address topics that urgently need to be explored further.

Miranda Moss’s work puts forward new methods for interacting with digital systems. She elicits gestures and actions that are nuanced, delicate, patient and show greater respect for forms of equilibrium that are not immediately apparent to us. The enchanted garden she presents in The Timid Wilderness is inhabited by plants that are wary of humans – loud, graceless beings who lack consideration for any lifeforms other than their own. Perhaps these flowers have a better understanding than us of the disastrous effects that the western world’s folly on ecosystems.

The Timid Wilderness - Miranda Moss © Vinciane Lebrun-Verguethen

The most stunning aspect is how the artist reveals the magic of the natural world through the use of artificial intelligence, of course, but also via recovered materials and plastic, in particular. Plastic, most often disintegrated into tiny particles, now forms part of our ecosystems, whether we like it or not. We now find it everywhere: in sea ice, in the point in the ocean the farthest away from the land surface, in plankton and throughout the food chain. There are now more microplastics in the world’s seas than stars in the entire galaxy. Plastic has invaded ecosystems with such virulence that geologists have noticed the formation of plastiglomerates, a new type of rock comprising plastic, volcanic rock, beach sand, shells, debris and other fused hard materials. Miranda Moss has transformed this object of disdain into an eclectic Eden brimming with beauty and bioluminescence.

Meanwhile, Florian Dussopt mixed sounds recorded on trips to faraway lands with digital noises to create a universe where it is often hard to distinguish the organic from the synthetic, the natural from the artificial, the spontaneous from the carefully choreographed. The luxuriant appearance of this silicon jungle captures how our virtual actions are inextricably intertwined with the distinctly physical organisms and realities found in the world.

Sonic Jungle - Florian Dussopt © Vinciane Lebrun-Verguethen

In Edge of Chaos, Vasilija Abramovic, Ruairi Glynn and Bas Overvelde show us both a digital world emancipated from screens and a natural world forged by engineers. This nature – or supernature, as it were – is a source of inspiration for the construction of buildings, cities and other edifices that we have long limited to the most banal concrete materials. The trio of artists invite us to contemplate these architectural structures on the precipice of the predictable laws of the mathematical world and the often cofounding, utterly magnificent laws of the organic world.

Edge of Chaos - IAL & Studio Overvelde © Vinciane Lebrun-Verguethen

While The Timid Wilderness, Edge of Chaos and Sonic Jungle are very different from one another both aesthetically and conceptually, the three works all speak to the hybrid form of ecology that is emerging from the interaction between our natural environment and technology. Considered completely separate until very recently, these two spheres affect each other and form new entities endowed with unique qualities and physiological features.

The artists use silicon, plastic, sensors and responsive geometrical structures to call our attention to rapidly changing landscapes that are decidedly unlike those of the past century. There are new inhabitants: genetically modified plants, cloned trees, robots whose movements seem to follow biological laws, whales equipped with sensors and, more prosaically, farmed salmon fed specifically to meet our cultural conception of what constitutes an appetizing fish.

It is fascinating to observe the extent to which the disruptions caused by computer engineering and synthetic biology are rewriting our definition of corporeality and upending our understanding of intelligence. Rather than be alarmed by this sea change, we should welcome it as an opportunity for more conscientious co-existence with other lifeforms and types of intelligence – technology, plants, animals and combinations thereof.

That is clearly where digital artists’ works can help us understand the future of a homo that feels less and less sapiens, by offering interfaces and stimuli that provoke sensory reactions and emotional engagement, or bring new learning strategies and forms of intelligence to the fore.

A little empathy in a world of machines

Interactive art is often considered mere entertainment, with sounds, lights, colours and the chance to participate physically, in a laid-back setting. Yet it exercises a form of intelligence that warrants attention: emotional intelligence, which makes us more sensitive to our inside and outside world, and helps us understand how our own emotions affect us and those around us, to grasp what others are feeling.

Aurelia 1+Hz / proto viva generator - Robertina Sebjanic © Vinciane Lebrun-Verguethen

Sonic Jungle, Edge of Chaos and The Timid Wilderness serve as vast ‘interfaces’ that elicit empathy, the key ingredient in emotional intelligence. Social networks, which create polarised bubbles and filter out content, have blinkered our perspective on the world and nearly made us forget about the importance of this quality. By no means a minor faculty, emotional intelligence enables humans to connect with the emotions of their peers, to cooperate to survive, and to prosper as a species. If it were not for this essential trait, our ancient ancestors would never have helped each other ward off predators. Researchers would not be working tirelessly to develop cancer vaccines. The words of Édouard Glissant, the melodies of Billie Holiday and the vision of Francisco de Goya would not move us.

Our society currently faces global problems that we will not be able to solve without empathy. It is vital that we develop more interfaces (digital and otherwise) that foster this faculty and have the potential to broaden it to encompass other lifeforms as wide-ranging and singular as a humanoid, a cockroach, a daisy, or one of the microorganisms in our microbiota.

It was striking to hear the extent to which Jack Ma, when asked how we should educate our children in January 2018, spoke out in favour of initiatives that require less “knowledge-based” forms of intelligence than those traditionally taught in our schools . A former English lecturer who went on to co-found the e-commerce heavyweight Alibaba, Ma believes that the future lies in soft skills, namely the humanities and the applied arts. Rather than programming. Not because the latter lacks inherent value, but because we cannot compete with machines in areas where they are designed to dominate. According to Ma, we need to teach new generations to foster humanistic values, think independently, work as a team and care about others. In sum, what now appears to be paramount is our ability to be in tune with others and our own imagination.

Imaginations run wild

The imagination is the wellspring of every story, innovation and human experience. And artistic imagination, which feeds off speculation and experimental methods, has shaped a vision of technology and its uses that has played an active role in developing innovation and its adoption by society. While science-fiction literature and films have often been lauded for their ability to prophesise and influence advances in science and technology , media art has also heralded applications and instruments that now seem commonplace. These include projects such as the Art+Com collective’s Terravision installation, which allowed the public to navigate the world using satellite images a decade before the arrival of Google Earth. Or Blast Theory’s geolocated performances, which foreshadowed the astounding success of Pokémon Go back in 2001.

It is still too early to ascertain the prophetic qualities of the works produced for Les voyages de Capitaine futur. What is certain is that they express the need to measure progress by less anthropocentric standards. The works inspire us to dream of futures rooted in awareness of how our planet is assailed by human recklessness, but which still convey hope for co-evolution with all forms of life, both organic and synthetic.

This hope that shines through in the three installations is crucial to humanity’s ability to move forward in the right direction. Books by climatologists and the anxiety-inducing scenes shot by Jennifer Baichwal, Nicholas de Pencier and Edward Burtynsky raise the same questions about the future of our planet. Unfortunately, their work has failed to make a significant impact on our lifestyles. Raising awareness alone is not enough to secure the future of the biosphere. In the words of engineer and collapsology theorist Pablo Servigne, “We don’t need to raise awareness. We need to stir emotion.”

ANTHROPOCENE, The Human Epoch © Jennifer Baichwal, Nicholas de Pencier et Edward Burtynsky

If there is one lesson to be learned from Les Voyages de Capitaine futur, it’s that we have paid too much attention to engineers, industry executives, politicians and economic forecasters (and, more generally, the cohort of middle-aged cisgender white men from privileged socioeconomic backgrounds – the same old story). The time has come for them to make way for creators who think critically about technology and young people, who, as I write these words, are protesting in the streets and rallying to protect a future that is being stolen from them.

Régine Debatty, curator, art critic and creator of the blog We Make Money Not Art.

References

loading

Histoires de futurs à coder et décoder

Au-dessus de nos têtes plane le spectre de ce que le très populaire historien du futur Yuval Noah Harari appelle « la classe inutile », une vaste sous-caste d’humains que les machines dites « intelligentes » et les avancées de la biotechnologie pourraient bientôt rendre obsolètes parce que trop lents, trop peu fiables et trop peu (voire plus du tout) rentables.
Si l’image d’un humain mis au rebut appartient peut-être encore au domaine de la dystopie et s’il n’y a pour l’instant aucun consensus quant à l’impact que l’intelligence artificielle aura demain sur nos vies sociales, professionnelles et même intimes, il n’en reste pas moins que son adoption progressive par une société amoureuse de progrès et vouée au culte du solutionnnisme technologique grignote peu à peu nos présomptions de supériorité cognitive. Il est l’heure de revoir notre conception du rang et du rôle de l’humain sur cette planète, de spéculer et d’imaginer d’autres possibles si nous voulons assurer à nos enfants un futur dans un monde en proie à une potentielle prise de pouvoir par les machines de l’IA et aux conséquences toujours plus imprévisibles du réchauffement climatique.

Le media art. À quoi ça sert ?

Quels rôles peut donc jouer le media art non seulement dans notre compréhension de la technologie mais aussi dans une élaboration de la place qu’elle pourrait jouer dans des scénarios futurs  ? Quelle est en particulier l’utilité d’une création numérique qui jette un regard critique et engagé sur la technologie  ? Qui la réfléchit en même temps qu’elle la manipule  ? Qui cherche son public ailleurs que dans les seules foires d’art contemporain  ?

Le travail des artistes offre davantage que de simples plaisirs esthétiques. Il peut rendre intelligibles non seulement des processus scientifiques et techniques qui semblent parfois hermétiques mais aussi révéler des dimensions sociales ou environnementales encore trop peu discutées aujourd’hui. Bittercoin, par exemple, est une vieille machine à calculer piratée par ses créateurs Martín Nadal et César Escudero Andaluz pour se connecter à la blockchain et valider les transactions de bitcoins. Les calculs effectués s’impriment sur des rouleaux de papier qui s’accumulent inlassablement autour de la machine, rendant tangibles la quantité de calcul requise ainsi que les ressources naturelles gaspillées au cours du processus. On peut aussi évoquer le travail de Michael Mandiberg qui a recréé, séquence par séquence, la comédie de 1936 Les Temps modernes. Pour ce faire, il a recruté pas loin de 200 créatifs via des plateformes de micro-travail et leur a donné pour mission de jouer les acteurs et metteurs en scène afin de reconstruire quelques secondes du chef-d’oeuvre de Charlie Chaplin. Assemblées bout à bout, les séquences se transforment en un spectacle parfois drôle mais toujours chaotique et tragique, à l’image des corvées ingrates et mal rémunérées proposées aux travailleurs par les plateformes états-uniennes de micro-tâcheronnage.

Bittercoin © Martín Nadal et César Escudero Andaluz

L’art peut aussi nous aider à nous projeter vers l’avenir, à voir au-delà des promesses d’une avancée scientifique ou technologique et à méditer les possibles impacts économiques, politiques, culturels et éthiques que celle-ci pourrait avoir demain sur la société. Par le biais de stratégies de détournement, de tactiques de séduction, voire d’affrontement, les artistes nous amènent à observer des moments de pause dans une culture qui ne prend plus le temps pour interroger la portée de nos choix sociétaux et débattre de futurs plus ou moins désirables. On pense aux célèbres portraits 3D d’inconnus que Heather Dewey-Hagborg a réalisés en utilisant les échantillons d’ADN extraits des cheveux, ongles, mégots de cigarettes et chewing-gums récoltés au hasard de ses promenades dans les rues de New York. Les masques étranges qu’elle façonne sur la base de ce matériel génétique permettent de mieux comprendre les limites du phénotypage médico-légal et les conséquences d’une culture de la surveillance génétique par les États.

Stranger Visions © Heather Dewey-Hagborg

La grande force de l’art réside sans doute dans cette dimension politique. Bien qu’elle ne soit pas toujours explicite, la mission que se donne l’artiste critique est de défier les omnipotents acteurs du développement technologique. En dénonçant les possibles dérives ou en donnant à voir au public que des alternatives plus attentives à la justice sociale et environnementale sont possibles, les artistes nous avertissent qu’il serait irresponsable de laisser les technologies dans les seules mains de ceux qui la développent, la produisent et la vendent. Cette remise en question des développements actuels du numérique trouve d’ailleurs de plus en plus écho dans les préoccupations des citoyens. Aujourd’hui, nombre d’entre eux se sentent utilisés plus qu’utilisateurs, consommateurs malléables plus qu’acteurs autonomes. L’art permet de percevoir la possibilité d’un affranchissement de ces dynamiques asymétriques, d’une réappropriation des outils numériques, d’une co-construction sociale libérée des dynamiques purement capitalistes de la Silicon Valley. En somme, les acteurs du media art seraient presque les héritiers des Luddites, ces ouvriers anglais des années 1811-1812 qui brisaient les machines de la révolution industrielle. Non pas parce qu’ils abhorraient la technologie en tant que telle mais parce qu’ils voulaient mettre un terme aux conséquences négatives de ces nouveaux instruments de production sur les individus, leurs communautés et l’environnement .

Bref, la recherche artistique permet une plus grande familiarisation du public avec la technologie. Une familiarisation qui porte à une conquête des vocabulaires, à une assurance que nous avons une certaine capacité d’agir, un droit à poser des questions et à contester l’idée que la technologie est un ensemble de dispositifs qui s’achètent mais ne se scrutent pas, qui se codent mais ne se décodent pas. Le media art est donc un outil propice au développement de la littératie médiatique qui permet aux utilisateurs de la technologie d’en décrypter les messages sous-jacents et les dynamiques parfois opaques.

Voyages en terres hybrides

Chacune des trois œuvres sélectionnées pour le projet européen Les Voyages de Capitaine futur déploie ces aspects critiques de manières variées bien sûr mais surtout, chacune aborde des thèmes qu’il est urgent d’approfondir aujourd’hui.

L’œuvre de Miranda Moss suggère d’autres modalités d’interaction avec les dispositifs numériques. Elle privilégie des gestuelles et des comportements nuancés, délicats, patients et plus respectueux d’équilibres qui ne nous sont pas immédiatement révélés. Son jardin enchanteur The Timid Wilderness est habité de plantes qui se méfient de l’humain, cet être bruyant, fruste et dénué de considération pour toute autre forme de vie que la sienne. Peut-être ces fleurs ont-elles compris, mieux que nous, l’impact désastreux de la folie de l’homme occidental sur la survie des écosystèmes.

The Timid Wilderness - Miranda Moss © Vinciane Lebrun-Verguethen

Le plus troublant est que l’artiste donne à voir la magie d’un monde naturel en utilisant l’intelligence artificielle bien sûr, mais aussi des matériaux de récupération et surtout du plastique. Qu’on le veuille ou non, le plastique, surtout désintégré en particules minuscules, fait dorénavantésormais partie intégrante de nos écosystèmes. On le trouve désormais partout : dans la banquise, dans le point de l’océan le plus éloigné de toute terre émergée, dans le plancton et donc dans toute la chaîne alimentaire. Il y aurait désormais plus de microplastiques dans les mers du globe que d’étoiles dans toute la Galaxie. Le plastique a d’ailleurs investi les écosystèmes avec une telle virulence que les géologues ont observé la formation de plastiglomérats, un nouveau type de roche qui allie plastique, roche volcanique, sable de plage, coquillages, débris et autres matériaux durs liés. Miranda Moss parvient à transformer ce matériel aujourd’hui méprisé en un éden étrange de beauté et de bioluminescence.

En mélangeant les sons enregistrés lors de voyages dans des contrées lointaines avec des sonorités numériques, Florian Dussopt a donné vie à un univers où il est souvent difficile de distinguer l’organique du synthétique, le naturel de l’artificiel, le spontané du savamment orchestré. L’aspect exubérant de cette jungle de silicone reflète l’enchevêtrement inextricable de nos actions virtuelles et des organismes et réalités bien physiques qui habitent le monde.

Avec Edge of Chaos, Vasilija Abramovic, Ruairi Glynn et Bas Overvelde nous montrent non seulement un numérique qui s’est émancipé des écrans mais aussi une nature forgée par des ingénieurs. Une nature toujours plus supernaturelle qui est source d’inspiration pour la construction de bâtiments, villes et autres structures que nous réduisions, jusqu’ici, à leur matérialité la plus banale et la plus bétonnée. Les trois artistes nous invitent à méditer sur ces architectures en équilibre entre les lois prévisibles d’un monde mathématique et les lois souvent déroutantes mais tellement magnifiques du monde organique.

Edge of Chaos - IAL & Studio Overvelde © Vinciane Lebrun-Verguethen

Bien que très différentes les unes des autres esthétiquement et conceptuellement, The Timid Wilderness, Edge of Chaos et Sonic Jungle ont pour point commun de nous parler d’une écologie hybride qui émerge d’un environnement naturel qui interagit avec la technologie – ces deux sphères considérées jusqu’à hier comme indépendantes s’affectent mutuellement et forment de nouvelles entités dotées de qualités et physiologies qui leurs sont propres.

En utilisant du silicone, du plastique, des capteurs et des géométries réactives, les artistes attirent notre regard vers des paysages en rapide mutation. Des paysages qui ne sont plus ceux du siècle dernier. Ils sont désormais habités de plantes génétiquement modifiées, d’arbres clonés, de robots dont les mouvements semblent suivre les lois du biologique, de baleines équipées de capteurs ou, plus prosaïquement, de saumons d’élevage nourris afin de répondre avec précision à nos conceptions culturelles de ce qui caractérise un poisson appétissant.

Il est d’ailleurs passionnant d’observer combien les bouleversements provoqués par l’ingénierie informatique et la biologie synthétique remettent en question non seulement notre définition de la corporalité mais aussi et surtout malmènent notre compréhension de ce qui constitue l’intelligence. Au lieu de nous alarmer de ces bouleversements, accueillons-les comme autant d’occasions de nous ouvrir à une cohabitation plus respectueuse avec d’autres formes de vies et d’intelligences, qu’elles soient technologiques, végétales, animales ou un peu tout cela en même temps.

C’est là sans doute que les œuvres des artistes du numérique, en privilégiant les interfaces et les stimuli qui sollicitent réactivités sensorielles et engagements émotifs, qui mettent en jeu d’autres stratégies d’apprentissage et surtout d’autres formes d’intelligence, peuvent nous aider à comprendre l’avenir d’un homo qui se sent de moins en moins sapiens.

Un peu d’empathie dans un monde de machines

L’art interactif, souvent considéré comme une simple source de divertissement avec ses sons, ses lumières, ses couleurs et ses possibilités de participation corporelle et décomplexée, sollicite une intelligence qui mérite l’attention : l’intelligence émotionnelle, celle qui nous rend plus sensibles au monde intérieur et extérieur, celle qui permet de comprendre la manière dont nos propres émotions nous affectent nous et notre entourage, celle qui nous aide à entendre ce que peut ressentir l’autre.

Aurelia 1+Hz / proto viva generator - Robertina Sebjanic © Vinciane Lebrun-Verguethen

Les installations Sonic Jungle, Edge of Chaos et The Timid Wilderness fonctionnent comme autant de vastes « interfaces » qui invitent à l’empathie, cet ingrédient clé de l’intelligence émotionnelle. Les réseaux sociaux qui, stimulent les bulles partisanes et filtrent les contenus ont rétréci notre perspective sur le monde et nous ont presque fait oublier l’importance de cette qualité. Loin d’être une faculté accessoire, celle-ci permet aux humains de se connecter aux émotions de leurs semblables, de coopérer pour survivre et prospérer en tant qu’espèce. Sans cette compétence essentielle, nos ancêtres lointains ne se seraient jamais entraidés pour se protéger de leurs prédateurs. Sans elle, des chercheurs ne travailleraient pas inlassablement à l’élaboration de vaccins contre le cancer. Sans elle, les mots d’Édouard Glissant, les notes de Billie Holiday et les visions de Francisco de Goya nous laisseraient indifférents.

Notre société se trouve aujourd’hui confrontée à des problèmes d’une ampleur mondiale que nous ne pourrons pas résoudre sans empathie. Il est donc primordial de développer davantage d’interfaces (numériques ou non) qui la facilitent et pourraient l’étendre à des formes de vie aussi diverses et singulières qu’un humanoïde, un cafard, une marguerite ou l’un des micro-organismes de notre microbiote.

Il était d’ailleurs assez troublant d’entendre combien Jack Ma, interrogé en janvier 2018 sur l’éducation à donner aux enfants, semblait donner raison aux initiatives qui sollicitent des formes d’intelligences moins « cartésiennes » que celles traditionnellement enseignées dans nos écoles. Cet ancien professeur d’anglais, devenu co-fondateur du géant de l’e-commerce Alibaba, considère que l’avenir est aux « soft skills », aux sciences humaines et aux arts appliqués. Pas à la programmation. Non pas parce qu’une telle compétence serait inutile en soi mais parce que nous ne pouvons pas concurrencer les machines sur un terrain qu’elles sont conçues pour dominer. Selon Jack Ma, il faut apprendre aux nouvelles générations à cultiver les valeurs humaines, à penser indépendamment, à travailler en équipe et à s’intéresser aux autres. Bref, il semble que ce qui importe désormais est notre faculté à entrer en relation plus étroite avec autrui et avec notre propre imagination.

L’imagination au pouvoir

Toute histoire, toute innovation, toute expérience humaine naît avec l’imagination. Et l’imagination artistique, fruit de la spéculation et de méthodes expérimentales, a parfois modelé une vision de la technologie et de ses usages qui a participé activement au développement de l’innovation et de leur mise en société. Si les œuvres littéraires et audio-visuelles de science-fiction ont souvent été saluées pour leur capacité à prophétiser et à influencer les avancées de la science et de la technologie, le media art a pu être l’annonciateur d’applications et d’instruments qui nous semblent aujourd’hui presque ’ordinaires. On peut citer ici des projets tels que l’installation Terravision du collectif Art+Com qui, dix ans avant l’arrivée de Google Earth, permettait au public de naviguer le monde à l’aide d’images satellitaires. Ou encore les performances géolocalisées de Blast Theory qui, dès 2001, annonçaient le succès fulgurant de Pokémon Go.

Il est encore trop tôt pour évaluer ce que les œuvres développées pour le projet Les Voyages de Capitaine futur ont de prémonitoire. Ce qui est certain, c’est qu’elles affirment le besoin de mesurer notre définition du progrès à l’aune de valeurs moins anthropocentriques. Elles nous permettent de songer à des futurs qui, s’ils restent ancrés dans la conscience d’une planète tourmentée par l’inconséquence humaine, véhiculent l’espoir d’une co-évolution de toutes les formes de vie, qu’elles soient organiques ou synthétiques.

Cet espoir que l’on détecte dans les trois installations est crucial si l’humanité veut aller de l’avant. Les livres de climatologues ou les images anxiogènes du trio Jennifer Baichwal, Nicholas de Pencier et Edward Burtynsky véhiculent une même interrogation quant au futur de notre planète. Malheureusement, ces travaux n’ont pas eu d’impacts significatifs sur nos modes de vie. Une prise de conscience ne suffit pas si l’on veut assurer l’avenir de la biosphère. Pour reprendre les mots de l’ingénieur et théoricien de la collapsologie Pablo Servigne : « On n’a pas besoin d’une prise de conscience. On a besoin d’une prise d’émotion. »

ANTHROPOCENE, The Human Epoch © Jennifer Baichwal, Nicholas de Pencier et Edward Burtynsky

S’il est une leçon que l’on peut retenir des Voyages de Capitaine futur, c’est que l’on a trop écouté les seuls ingénieurs, industriels, politiciens, prévisionnistes (et de manière générale la cohorte des hommes blancs hétérosexuels cisgenre d’âge moyen et d’origine socio-économique privilégiée mais ça c’est une vieille histoire). Il est l’heure pour eux de laisser une place plus large aux créateurs et créatrices engagés dans une réflexion critique de la technologie, et aux jeunes qui, à l’heure où j’écris ces lignes, protestent dans les rues et se mobilisent pour un futur qu’on est en train de leur voler.

Régine Debatty, curatrice, critique d’art et fondatrice du blog We Make Money Not Art.

Références

loading