A brief manifesto

Narration: a tool for child-orientated art programming

Capitaine futur has grown by travelling across the world since his inception in 2011 at La Gaîté Lyrique. Independent and down to earth, he is now within the reach of all those who seek him out to expand universes. Over the years, this invisible character has lent his name to increasingly profuse, bold child-orientated arts programming that reinvents forms and meaning through experimentation – a series of successes, mistakes, pitfalls and moments of bliss that have gradually refined its goals and defined its methods.

Archipelago - Artificial Nature [Haru Ji & Graham Wakefield] © Vinciane Verguethen

Capitaine futur has donned different colours and contours as he caroms from one journey to another. His elusive features come into focus and then fade away in visual peregrinations and artistic orientations that stretch to the twelve corners of the universe. This seamless ability to shape-shift is precisely what gives him the intrinsic ability to fulfil the need to write open, collective narratives for children. For the tales that will describe and decipher the world in which they are born, live and will have to shape – in both tangible and poetic terms – have yet to be written.

That is the challenge that lies ahead; we are living in an era when, for what appears to be the first time in history, a generation must pass on knowledge that it itself hastily acquired only a handful of years ago. The connected, observing and conversational technologies that exist in the 21st century did not come with a guide that teaches their ways or a tutorial for gauging their impact. How, then, can we explain to the adults of the future that which is not entirely clear to us today, despite its universally enveloping presence?

The screens, folklore and instruments of the Internet impact every aspect of our reality – connections exist even in places where no cables are plugged in. An imbroglio of issues in a knotted web, this newfound, meteoric complexity does not lend itself to easy comprehension and is met with varying reactions. Some are determined to embrace the present and experiment with avenues for creation, production and transfer using emerging methods and tools. Capitaine futur, the traveller with a thousand stories, unites this group of parents and teachers, alongside researchers in artistic and scientific fields, all of whom aware of the challenge.

How does Capitaine futur go about his task? Through a five-step rhythm that sets the pace, as so:

1 – Tell the stories of our technological world

In this era of technical fast-paced technical development, storytelling is a means of contextualising the changes underway that offers an engaging framework for children to learn with and through technology. It’s a refuge for the imagination where one can describe the world and make it one’s own. As a narrative device and metaphorical tool born from the language of our time, Capitaine futur tells the story of the digital age and demystifies technology via imaginary excursions. He uses narration to structure curation and support arts programmes that play to little ones’ biggest abilities, including exhibitions, concerts, workshops, science conferences, projections and more. Continually adjusted based on the topics explored, this narrative framework makes it possible to meet new needs, share knowledge and forge new forms of ties across audiences and generations.

Animate field - Justin Lui © Vinciane Verguethen

2 – Encourage children to participate actively

“Perhaps children will tell us so much about their own world that it can also be a model for us. We hope so.” – Danish artist Palle Nielsen. Viewing children as an audience in their own right, Capitaine futur seeks to redefine their experiences at venues for exploring the world, such as classrooms and museums. Children think critically about the present and are at home with games that involve dreaming up scenarios which often veer in different directions. This gives them the ability to inspire adults, who are easily flustered by the rapid changes spurred on by the digital world. Capitaine futur encourages them to use this superpower – he reassigns roles, inviting children to co-construct artistic and educational content through active intellectual and physical participation in programmes tailored to young audiences. While no one is more serious than a child at play, adults are enjoined to look kindly upon kids’ recreation and be humble enough to learn with them.

workshop © Cinekid festival

3 – Connect technology with emotion

The digital world is not devoid of affect; on the contrary, it is teeming with senses, sensitivity and sensuality. Media art is a multi-faceted form that embodies this emotion. Capitaine futur focuses on everyday technologies, helping children to stimulate all five senses while thinking and tinkering. When the adults of tomorrow come into contact with these responsive art installations, they at last have the opportunity to literally lay their hands on works, to absorb ideas, grab hold of reality and fully embrace the world approaching them. As part of this fresh call for interactivity, Capitaine futur is breathing new life into a contemporary art form that elicits intense emotions, via physical participation and a more open dialogue with the works. In an environment where humans and machines coexist, drawing on emotional intelligence appears increasingly vital if we are to better understand the world around us and better define our place and relationships with others – adults and children alike.

Ils traversent les pistes sur des morceaux de tissus pour ne pas laisser de trace - Virginie Yassef © Vinciane Verguethen

4 – Experiment to learn together

Capitaine futur fosters a new form of interaction with works that combine art and science, in order to promote hybridisation and serendipity on the path to knowledge, rather than imposing erudition that is difficult to question. In a world where humanity’s greatest discoveries arise from physical and intellectual voyages and our propensity for wonderment, pedagogy is too often confined to a single theory. Capitaine futur takes the opposite approach: programming that celebrates experimentation. He makes media art a great laboratory that creates a path leading children to multiple forms of knowledge and thought, in which they get to know themselves better to forge their own unique way in the world and meet others.

Capitaine futur’s workshop with Benjamin Gaulon © Vinciane Verguethen

5 – Foster the emergence of citizen culture

Capitaine futur brings children into contact with artist-researchers who tirelessly create, explore and subvert the technologies shaping the world. He strives to redefine these artists’ place in art and teaching institutions as well as society as a whole. As he shakes up the divisions between arts and sciences, teachers and students, and schools and museums, Capitaine futur redefines the ways of being and making together. He seizes on the digital resources and values that are reshaping our relationship with culture, work and creation. The programming shines the spotlight on collective production, the fundamentals of peer-to-peer and open-source solutions that provide open access to knowledge that is continually expanded by the community and spreads as it is shared on the network. Capitaine futur is fostering the emergence of connected citizen culture starting from a very young age and, in so doing, himself becoming an open-source character.

Wave Shells - Lucky Dragons © Vinciane Verguethen
loading

Le petit manifeste

La narration, outil de programmation art-orienté-enfants

Depuis sa création en 2011 à la Gaîté lyrique, Capitaine futur a grandi en parcourant le monde. Indépendant mais accessible, il se met désormais à la portée de ceux qui, en le sollicitant, voudraient faire pousser des univers. Au fil des années, ce personnage invisible a donné son nom à une programmation artistique orientée enfants, chaque fois plus foisonnante et audacieuse, réinventant sur le terrain ses formes et son sens. Par suite de succès, d’erreurs, d’embûches et de grands bonheurs, cette expérimentation au long cours a affiné ses buts et défini ses méthodes.

Archipelago - Artificial Nature [Haru Ji & Graham Wakefield] © Vinciane Verguethen

Rebondissant d’un voyage à l’autre, Capitaine futur a revêtu des couleurs et des contours différents. Ses insaisissables traits s’animent et toujours se dérobent dans des fugues graphiques et des orientations artistiques pointant vers les douzes angles de l’univers. C’est précisément grâce à son caractère parfaitement protéiforme qu’il peut, intrinsèquement, répondre à une nécessité : celle d’écrire des narrations ouvertes et collectives à destination des enfants. En effet, il n’existe pas encore de contes pour décrire et décrypter, concrètement et poétiquement, le monde dans lequel ils sont nés et vont vivre et qu’ils sont au défi d’inventer.

Car voilà la gageure ; nous sommes à l’époque où, fait inédit semble-t-il dans notre histoire, une génération se doit de transmettre à une autre un savoir qu’elle a prestement acquis d’elle-même il y a une poignée d’années. Les technologies connectées, observantes et conversationnelles, telles qu’elles se présentent au XXIème, n’ont pas livré de manuel pour se faire à leurs usages, ni de tutoriel pour cerner leurs impacts. Comment, alors, dire aux adultes de demain ce qui n’est pas tout à fait évident pour ceux d’aujourd’hui et qui pourtant les enveloppe tous également ?
Internet, ses écrans, ses folklores et ses instruments impactent toute notre réalité ; même ce qui n’est pas directement câblé s’y retrouve relié. Toile de noeuds et imbroglio d’enjeux, cette complexité nouvelle et fougueuse ne se laisse pas facilement appréhender. Les réactions divergent quand il s’agit de la confronter. Certains ont résolument entrepris d’embrasser le présent et d’expérimenter des modalités de création, de production et de transmission en employant méthodes et outils émergents. Capitaine futur, voyageur aux mille visages les rassemble ; ils sont parents, enseignants, mais aussi chercheurs en arts et en sciences, tous conscients du challenge. Capitaine futur, guide aux milles histoires leur ressemble.

Comment alors s’y prend Capitaine futur ? Basant sa cadence sur un rythme à 5 temps, voici comme il opère :

1 - Raconter les récits de notre monde technologique

Dans cette période d’accélération technique, le récit est un moyen de contextualiser les mutations en cours et d’offrir un cadre entraînant au sein duquel les enfants apprennent avec et par les technologies. Il est un réservoir imaginaire pour décrire le monde et se l’approprier. Support de la narration, outil métaphorique né du langage de notre époque, Capitaine futur raconte notre ère numérique et démystifie les technologies par des détours imaginaires. Il utilise la narration pour penser la curation et accompagner les programmes artistiques conçus pour les grandes facultés des plus petits, tels que des expositions, des concerts, des ateliers, des conférences scientifiques, des projections… Ce cadre narratif toujours à redéfinir en fonction des thématiques à explorer permet de répondre à de nouveaux besoins, de partage de savoirs et de modes relationnels inédits entre les publics et les générations.

Animate field - Justin Lui © Vinciane Verguethen

2 - Faire participer activement les enfants

« Peut-être les enfants nous diront-ils tant de choses sur leur monde que cela deviendra aussi un modèle pour nous. Nous l’espérons. » écrivait l’artiste danois Palle Nielsen. Considérant les enfants comme un public à part entière, Capitaine futur cherche à redéfinir leur expérience dans les lieux d’exploration du monde tels que la classe ou le musée. Capables d’interroger le présent et habitués par le jeu à concevoir des scénarii qui souvent bifurquent, les enfants ont le potentiel d’inspirer des adultes facilement déboussolés par les changements rapides qu’induit le numérique. Capitaine futur les encourage à exercer ce super-pouvoir : il redistribue les rôles par l’invitation faite aux enfants de co-construire des contenus artistiques et pédagogiques et par leur participation active, intellectuelle et physique, à des programmes pensés sur mesure pour eux. Si personne n’est plus sérieux qu’un enfant qui joue, les adultes sont enjoints à regarder leur récréation avec bienveillance et à avoir la modestie d’apprendre auprès d’eux.

atelier © Cinekid festival

3 - Relier technologies et émotions

Le monde numérique n’est pas dénué d’affects, au contraire, il est plein de sens, de sensibilité et de sensualité. Sous la pluralité de leur apparence, les arts des médias sont exemplaires de cette réalité. Capitaine futur, qui s’intéresse aux technologies de tous les jours, propose aux enfants de les apprivoiser par la stimulation de leur cinq sens. Confrontés à des dispositifs artistiques réactifs, les adultes de demain ont enfin l’occasion “d’avoir la main sur”, autrement dit de toucher les œuvres, de s’emparer des idées, d’empoigner le réel et de prendre à bras le corps le monde qui vient à eux. Dans cet appel renouvelé à l’interactivité, Capitaine futur souffle un vent d’air frais sur un art d’aujourd’hui qui génère d’intenses émotions par une implication physique et un dialogue plus libre avec les oeuvres. Dans un environnement où humains et machines cohabitent, le déploiement d’une intelligence émotionnelle semble plus que nécessaire afin d’être à même de mieux comprendre le monde qui nous entoure et de mieux définir notre place et nos rapports avec les autres, que l’on soit adulte ou enfant.

Ils traversent les pistes sur des morceaux de tissus pour ne pas laisser de trace - Virginie Yassef © Vinciane Verguethen

4 - Expérimenter pour apprendre ensemble

Par le rapport renouvelé à des œuvres nées de collaborations entre les arts et les sciences, Capitaine futur privilégie l’hybridation et la sérendipité dans le cheminement vers la connaissance plutôt que la transmission d’une érudition imposée et difficilement questionnable. Alors que les grandes découvertes humaines sont issues de voyages, géographiques et intellectuels, de croisements entre les arts et les sciences, mais aussi de notre capacité d’émerveillement, la pédagogie se restreint encore trop souvent à la seule théorie. Capitaine futur valorise au contraire une programmation qui célèbre l’expérimentation. En faisant du média art un grand laboratoire, il crée une voie pour que les enfants se dirigent vers des savoirs et des pensées multiples, se rapprochent d’eux-mêmes pour s’inventer un devenir singulier dans le monde et partir à la rencontre des autres.

atelier Capitaine futur avec Benjamin Gaulon © Vinciane Verguethen

5 - Faire émerger une culture citoyenne

En permettant aux enfants d’être au contact d’artistes-chercheurs qui créent, explorent, détournent inlassablement les technologies qui façonnent le monde, Capitaine futur travaille à repenser leur place dans les lieux d’art et d’enseignement mais aussi dans la société. Chamboulant les clivages arts/sciences, élèves/enseignants, écoles/musées, Capitaine futur réactualise les manières d’être et de faire ensemble. Il s’empare des moyens et des valeurs du numérique qui réinventent notre rapport à la culture, au travail et à la création. La programmation fait la part belle à la production collective, à l’initiation de pair à pair et aux solutions open source qui permettent l’accès libre aux savoirs, leur enrichissement continu par la communauté et la démultiplication par leur partage en réseau. Capitaine futur contribue à l’émergence d’une culture citoyenne connectée dès le plus jeune âge et devient lui-même un personnage en open source.

Wave Shells - Lucky Dragons © Vinciane Verguethen
loading